Thursday, April 22, 2010

Perlmutter, Markey Honor American Football League 50th Anniversary

Washington , DC – Today, on National Football League (NFL) Draft Day, U.S. Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07) introduced H.Res. 1286 – Commemorating the 50th anniversary of the inaugural season of the American Football League (AFL). Colorado Rep. Betsy Markey (CO-04) is a co-sponsor. Ten current National Football League teams trace their origins to the AFL, including: Buffalo Bills, Cincinnati Bengals, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Miami Dolphins, New York Jets, New England Patriots, Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers, and Tennessee Titans.

“Normally, I would not celebrate anything having to do with the Oakland Raiders or the Kansas City Chiefs because I am a die hard Broncos fan. The vision of a handful of entrepreneurs 50 years ago should be celebrated. They brought professional football to many deserving cities, and I commend them for seeing Denver turn orange and blue for the Broncos,” stated Perlmutter. “Today is also draft day, and I encourage the Denver Broncos to make history again by drafting the stars of the future. Go Broncos!”

“50 years ago, a group of enterprising businesspeople brought professional football to growing states like Colorado ,” said Rep. Markey. “Now, 50 years later, I’m proud to celebrate the AFL, and all the teams I love to see the Broncos beat. Today’s a great day for Broncomaniacs everywhere!”

The original eight AFL teams were the Boston Patriots, Buffalo Bills, Dallas Texans, Denver Broncos, Houston Oilers, Los Angeles Chargers, New York Titans, and Oakland Raiders.

No comments:

Post a Comment